Life

Apparent Mini-Vacation

So, I definitely didn’t think I’d be off work for this long. I was trying to wait for the next job to start up before I made my next post but, I’m getting anxious so, here I am. Anxious for a lot of things really but, the next job to start up is pretty much the top thing on my mind at the moment. And only because Winter is coming and I don’t want to be out in the middle of nowhere in a sexy little sports car while it’s cold and snowy. I need to get a truck ASAP and, although I’m getting paid VERY well out here, I need the next job to kick in (and end) before I can afford the down payment. That’s stressing me out a bit but, that’s it; everything else has been flippin’ fantastic. The other projects I’m working on: the website for the Zeitgeist Ambassador (a TZM sail boat), a new newsletter for Ninja Division (the company that publishes Relic Knights…), a Vassal module for Relic Knights (a new game I’ve been obsessing over lately), and I think that’s about it.

So then, what’ve I been up to?

The day after I got off the previous job (Clearfork-Pullen) I hit the bank to grab a new checking and savings account down here and immediately ordered the game that I had been wanting for months; Relic Knights. When it came in I dove in straight away; filing, gluing, reading. I went to Reaper Miniatures headquarters here in TX for some modeling advice and was very ill impressed. Specifically, I went there for an open paint/painting clinic with their own artists and what I got was something less than stellar; a few cranky employees and a clique of people who had no interest in helping out a newbliet like myself. Needless to say, I haven’t been back and probably won’t bother in the future. I figured things out for myself though, and have been going to a local game shop called SciFi Factory pretty much every day just to keep myself out of the house. The minis are now painted up completely and since, I’ve managed to get in about eight games; not bad for a game that no one plays around here but me and that I’ve only had a couple weeks! I absolutely love it and I’ll be doing a review in another post.

I finished the Through The Breach Fated Almanac and wasn’t too thrilled about it. I’ll write up a full review on it in another post.

I went to WaCon, a small convention in Waco, TX and had a good time. I pretty much just taught people how to play Krosmaster Arena through the entire convention; I’m used to it. I did bring Relic Knights but, sadly, the miniatures area was fairly lackluster. Only a small handful of Warhammer 40K players and the guy running it, hated the game so, I don’t image many people in the miniature room had much fun. I managed to get in a game of Duel of Ages II but other than that, the main productivity of the convention was in socializing. I’m not good at meeting people, down right terrible at it actually but, I grew closer to the guys down here that my brother hangs out with and that, as an outcome, is better than anything else I could have asked for over the weekend.

A few of you have been wanting to take a look at some of the photos I’ve taken while out on the job site so, I manage to put a little photo album together on Photobucket to share. I think it’d be fun to keep a photo journal of all the locations I work so, without further adieu, Clearfork-Pullen.

That’s it for now, peeps.

Leave a Reply

