KanColle Card Review

So, let me preface this by saying that I have yet to even play this game. I’m excited to get into it but, aside from watching a few how-to-play vids on YouTube, I don’t have much knowledge of it at all. However, I just picked up the KanColle Trial Deck today from a local game shop (Collected, TCU location) and am already quite impressed! Personally, I’ve never heard of KanColle at all until I talked to a guy there and he gave me a very quick plot point that seemed kind of cool. ‘It’s basically an anime about Japanese warships and each warship is personified by a cute anime girl’; I was sold!

As you can see, along with a 50 card deck (a full deck), the game comes with some documentation, thankfully. A sheet of rules and quick start guide, a playmat that samples the recommended way to setup your side of the play area, a bit of marketing for the anime along with some strategies on how to best play the KanColle deck, and a playbook that contains advanced rules and rule clarifications. It also comes with a few exclusive cards and a few random RRR cards (triple-rare?). All of this is packaged in a pretty nice little plastic container that seems like it could actually be reused pretty easily to carry your deck and rules around in the future if you don’t already have a dedicated card box.

I really love the fact that they put a Card List and Features section on the back of the playmat. I remember picking up a Force of Will starter with a firend of mine and we struggled through our first few games not knowing anything about how the game is supposed to work because there wasn’t the slightest hint as to what the cards or, more importantly the deck, is supposed to do. Weiss Schwarz solves this perfectly so, another huge plus there.

Alright, let’s jump into why I wanted to do this review in the first place, the cards. These are probably the nicest cards I’ve ever played with. Actually, let me take a step back and say that I don’t actively play many cards games at all but, I’ve tried a good deal of them (including everyone’s new favorite ‘Force of Will’). I’m very impressed with the quality of these cards. The art is hi-def, unlike some Pokemon cards where you can see the pixelation, and goes edge to edge making for a really eye-catching game when the play area is full.

You can see from the image above, the weight of the cards is really fantastic; they feel great between your fingers and have a lot of support when ruffling. I have mine in some cheap Ultra‚ÄĘPro sleeves I had laying around but, I’m definitely going to pick up some nicer Dragon Shields when I get a chance. I imagine this is why Weiss Schwarz cards are so damn expensive ($24.95 retail).

There are just two complaints I have about my purchase. One I mentioned earlier and is possibly why I have yet to see anyone actually play this game, let alone see it on shelves; the box art itself. There just isn’t much at all; it’s not an attractive box, doesn’t catch the eye and doesn’t give anyone a reason to physically pick it up and look at it. I’m no huge educated graphic arts/marketing major but, I can imagine a number of ways to make this packaging so much more enticing. The other complaint I have, and is really quite moot, is that the playmat is cut short!

Leave a Reply

